Alumni Association Past Presidents Vote for 2019 Honored Alumni and Alumnus of the Year


On October 28, 2018, the past presidents of the Alumni Association gathered together for their annual meeting. The night consisted of great food, conversation, and the all-important vote for the 2019 Honored Alumni and Alumnus of the Year.

The night began with a welcome from current president Tammi Thomas ’87, and then after a delicious meal, reports were given by Dr. Thomas and Calvin Chuang, executive director of the Alumni Association, updating the past presidents about upcoming events and news regarding the Association. Calvin thanked all of the staff and also informed the presidents about the changes in staff members. He introduced the new assistant editor, Christina Lee, who took over for Chris Clouzet, and also said that he is currently in the process of finding a replacement for Jon Hwang, who is the video and photo specialist.

After the reports, Dr. Thomas presented a brief summary of each of the candidates for Honored Alumni and Alumnus of the year. Following a brief discussion, the presidents voted for the 2019 honorees, and the results were announced immediately after ballots were counted. The six awardees who will be honored at the 87th Annual Postgraduate Convention Gala are Barbara C. McKinney ’88, L. Bruce Ham ’74, Linda J. Mason ’74, James R. Cruise ’69, William C. Patton ’69, and Hubert C. Watkins ’62. The Alumnus of the Year remains a secret.

Find out who was selected for Alumnus of the Year at the APC Gala on March 3, 2019. For more information about APC or registration, visit

Click here for the full photo gallery.